IAKL cordiallyinvites members to submit an applicationto speak in a session of their expertise at the upcoming 27th International Korean Lawyers Conferencewhich will take place in Seoul on September 19 – 22, 2019.  Please review the session subjects separately attached to see if you would be qualified to speak in the panel.

Please check the conference website (2019iakl.net) for more information.

KEY DATES
Call for Speakers open May28, 2019
Deadline for submitting  names for consideration June 15, 2019
Notification of acceptance June 30, 2019
Deadline for speakers to submit bio and photo July 15, 2019
Deadline for speakers to submit presentation files July 31, 2019
Conference Dates 19 – 22 November 2019

Please note all conference speakers are required to register and remit their registration fees in order to attend the conference. They must be able to cover their own accommodation and travel costs.

Presentation Types

Oral presentations, in a panel format. Interactive session format is recommended. The conference will have 3 streams of concurrent sessions held over 2 days.

Submission Guidelines

Proposals will only be accepted through email.

Please submit your proposals by June 15 2019.

Your proposal must comply with the following requirements:

Session Details

  • name of session (please ensure to provide the main subject&title)
  • description (word limit of 300 words)– the description should consist of 1 or 2 paragraphs summarizing the content of your proposed presentation
  • format – MS Word or PDF format
  • language and method of submission –proposals must bein English and submitted via email only

Speaker Credentials

  • name and contact details
  • brief professional biography indicating relevant experience
  • further sources of information about speaker, if any, e.g., c.v., published articles and/or any documents to show your expertise

Notification

Upon review, you will be informed by June 30, 2019as to whether your submission for speakerhas been accepted for oral presentation.

Speaker Submission of Bio and Photo

Once you have been accepted as a speaker, you will be required to submit your bio and a photo (JPEG or PDF format, larger than 100k but smaller than 1mega byte) by July 15, 2019to be published in the conference book.

Presentation Submission

You will be required to submit your PPT presentation materials/slides by July 31, 2019Please note: In registering for the conference, you are giving consent for the full presentation materials/slides (paper and electronic forms included), video, audio recording and photographs taken in connection with/during your presentation to be used and published by IAKL (including being provided to conference attendees/delegates via a conference website and SNS outlets).

Please send us an e-mail in advance if you cannot submit the information or documents as scheduled above in advance.

For any inquiries, please email: conference2019@iakl.net

Session Topics
# Title Proposed Subject/Topic(s)
Legal Practice Division
1 Corporate / M&A Return of Protectionism in M&A Transactions
2 Finance The Rise and Fall of Cryptocurrencies
3 Dispute Resolution AI in Dispute Resolution
4 Tax Effective Handling of Tax Dispute: Shall We Shake Hands, Bow or Just Draw Our Swords – Controversies in Korea and around the World
5 IP Damages Calculations in Intellectual Property Infringement Cases
6 Competition International cooperation in cartel enforcement
7 Real Estate Global Equity & Debt Real Estate Investment
8 Energy/Natural Resources Corruption, Sustainability and Human Rights in Energy& Natural Resource Projects
9 Employment Recent Development in Wage and Working Hour Regulations
10 Technology Emerging Legal Challenges Brought by New Technologies: What are Legal Issues in New Technologies and How Lawyers Should Deal with New Challenges?
11 Insolvency Role of the Court Officer in Insolvency Proceedings: Trustees, Receivers, Administrators, Liquidators, Monitors… Who are they and what’s the difference?
12 White Collar Crime /
Criminal
Attorney’s Role in Multijurisdictional Government
13 International Trade Global Trade War: National Security and Retaliatory Tariffs.
Professional & Public Interest Division
14 Human Rights /
Pro bono / Immigration
Protection of Non-Citizens in a World of Hostility
15 Woman / Young Lawyers Achieving Long-Term Careers for Women in Law
16 Japan Lawyer Panel TBD
17 North Korea Trade & Investment into North Korea?
18 Ethics Professional Ethics in New Legal Environment

Theme

“Beyond Heritage”

Committee Chair

# Practice Area Committee Chair (Korea) Committee Chair (Overseas)
1 Corporate/M&A Kwon Hoe Kim, Yoon & Yangkkim@yoonyang.com Chan Park, Molitor

Chan.park@molitorlegal.lu

2 Finance Seungmin Jung Jipyong

Seungmin Jung Lab Partners
smjung@labpartners.co.kr

Alex Yim, Drinker Biddle

Alex.yim@dbr.com

3 Dispute Resolution Sae Youn Kim Yulchon

(kimsy@yulchon.com)

Ben Na, Gowling

Benjamin.na@gowlingwlg.com

4 Tax Jay Shim(심재진) Lee&Ko

(jay.shim@leeko.com)

Sabina Han, Fasken

shan@fasken.com

5 IP Chunghwan Choi, Lee & Ko

chc@leeko.com

Alex Kim, HSML

akim@hsml.com

6 Competition Youngjin Jung Kim & Chang (youngjin.jung@kimchang.com) Brian Ryoo, Gibson Dunn

bryoo@gibsondunn.com

7 Real Estate Kwon LeeMayer Brown LLP (kwon.lee@mayerbrown.com) Peter Lee, Lee Hong

Plee@lhlaw.com

8 Energy/

Natural Resource

Chung Jin Chung KOGAS

(cchungjin@gmail.com)

Yong-Jae Kim, Silvercorp Metals

ykim@silvercorp.ca

9 Employment Soojung Lee, Yulchon

slee@yulchon.com

TBD (Mike Yim or Charles Jung, or Lisa Yang in the interim)
10 Technology Jae Wook Lee, Yulchon

Jailee@yulchon.com

Joe DeMarco, Devore DeMarco

Jvd@devoredemarco.com

11 Insolvency Woo-young Choi, HMP Law

choiwy@hmplaw.com

Phil Cho, Weir Foulds

pcho@weirfoulds.com

12 White Collar

Crimes/Criminal

Tak-Kyun Hong, Shin & Kim

tkhong@shinkim.com

TBD
13 International

Trade

Se-In Lee, Pusan Nat’l. Univ.

silee@pusan.ac.kr

Pierce Lee, Crowell Moring

plee@crowell.com

14 Human Rights / Pro Bono Pill Kyu Hwang, Gonggam

hopenvision@naver.com

Peter Kang, Sidley

pkang@sidley.com

15 Women /

Young Lawyers

Eunice Kim, Ewha Wom. Univ.

Eunice.kim@ewha.ac.kr

Chorong Baak, Baak Jang Park

chobaak@lawbjp.com

Lisa Yang

Lisa.yang@limnexus.com

Jen Won, Bird Marella

jwon@birdmarella.com

16 Japanese

Language Panel

(None) (None needed)
17 North Korea Jaewoo Kwak LEE&KO
jaewoo.kwak@leeko.com
TBD
18 Ethics Jae Wook Lee, Yulchon

Jailee@yulchon.com

TBD